An English Pedestrian

No surprises here – Pittsburgh is definitely best suited to car drivers. Everything is spread out. I feel like I need to take a couple of lessons before I buy my own car. For now, I’m relying on my very own feet(!), the Port Authority bus network and my Pittsburgh family.

Being a pedestrian in Pittsburgh is unmistakably different to a pedestrian’s experience in the UK. Firstly, pedestrians aren’t even allowed to walk on the pavement, as there is a high risk of being run over – the pavement is what the Brits would call a road. They have sidewalks, which are wide enough to easily drive a vehicle down. To my utter disbelief, I have seen not one, but two vehicles being driven on a sidewalk so far.

Despite the two vehicles, the other road users are separated well from the pedestrians – the curbs are much higher than English curbs. They’ve caught me off balance a fair amount so far…

Crossing the pavement (road, with cars, buses and really big lorries) requires having eyes in the back of your head. I’m almost certain of it. I think you can jaywalk in Pittsburgh, but I wouldn’t be able to do it often as most roads (pavements…) have 4 busy lanes of traffic. However, I admit to jaywalking an empty 4 lane street in front of a police station. I was just testing the law.

The safest place to cross is at a signalled intersection with walk and stop signs. However, vehicles are also directed across the pedestrian crossing at the same time. I’ve been informed by a reputable source that pedestrians always have right of way, but this is incredibly awkward for me – the roads are so wide that they take a while to cross. I don’t like holding up traffic.

I’ve discovered intersections without walk signs are almost impossible to cross. It’s fine if I come across a 4-way stop sign, as those intersections tend to be quiet. But there are intersections with traffic lights that have no pedestrian signage. As vehicles can turn right through a red light, this involves being aware of three directions of traffic. I’ve never been closer to being hit by a car.

I’m learning from my mistakes, but I’m missing the narrow UK roads.

Leave a comment